My Life as TJ Handsman and the Life after

It is 4 am in the morning, the dark and silence reigns save for the sound of raindrops and now the strokes of my keyboard. I wake up this early to pen down a piece that explains my journey as a TJ hands man and the genesis of my life in opposition.

As at now, if you are active in politics, you are either pro Ongoro or the incumbent. Unfortunately for me, none of them exhilarates me. Perhaps this is why many people, in either camps, think that I’m confused and getting in involved in a bout above my weight!

Ahead of the 2013 elections, early 2012, I didn’t find Hon. Tom Juma a good bet as a Ruaraka MP, and indeed I was right. However, Omondi Alokon, may our heavenly Father rest his soul in eternal peace, reined upon me to give TJ the benefit of a doubt.  When Alokon, my mentor and the fatherly figure in political journey, explained to me his perspective, he made me have a soft spot for the Nyakwar Nyakwamba.

I joined team TJ and campaigned for him as much as I could. Working in unison with OchollaTena team, we made it our business to sell TJ and Ocholla as joint products. You must however note that it was Ocholla who footed the bills that were associated with these campaigns.

Thanks to effort we put in place, TJ strolled to victory in the ODM primaries, and automatically succeeded Hon. Ongoro as our MP.  This guy never even had a homecoming party; neither did he even organize an appreciation meeting. He got straight way to work, and he was busy.

We were pregnant with optimism that TJ would bring the much needed change in the manner in which CDF projects and constituency matters are handled. I looked at his work plan and thought that indeed we got the right man for the job.

The CDFC elections were held in May, I remember it was the same day that we woke up to the news of the demise of the late Hon. Mutula Kilonzo. The election itself was a mirage and only used to fool the public that they were involved in the constituency decisions. But TJ moved in fast to quell any fears and constituted an 11 members committee in each of the five wards. He said the 11 people would help him seamlessly execute his duties. Whenever he went to any Ward, he would parade the11 people and tell the members of the public that they were his eyes and ears on the ground.

He mandated us to collect data on students and pupils in Ruaraka constituency, which we did. He also told us to transverse the constituency and talk to the members of the public about the projects they needed. We, the supposed Utalii CDF project management committee (PMC), led by our able chairman George Dibo, begun our journey at Kware. We met the people of Kware – youths, women and the village elders – and highlighted the projects they needed. We then went to Jangwani and did the same, and so were Area 4 and all the cells of Mathare 4A.

We engaged the Kenya urban roads board and toured the constituency with them. I can’t forget how TJ sneaked and went for lunch at Bluesprings Hotel as he left us to continue with the journey. We rode on Kinoti Mlachake’s car, as we followed his car, but Ojero blocked our entry. TJ would later join us in the visits to Kware, Mathare North and we ended the journey at Mathare Area 4. TJ left without any single token of appreciation.

All the same, we focused on the bigger picture, bettering our constituency. The other wards did the same, and the report was compiled and dubbed the Ruaraka Constituency Master plan. He said the document would guide him to initiate projects that would positively impact of people’s lives.

Having gotten what he wanted, TJ decided to replace us with a new team. He did this in all the other four wards. Ruaraka Constituency had then been allocated about Kshs. 96 million. It was his time to eat.

It was at this moment that Charles Abiola, Peter Runkin, Kennedy (Abiola’s brother) and Chau came to picture. They were the owners of TJ!  Dibo, Jack Ongoro, Jakababa, Cindy (Sinde), Nyatingli, Jakomala, Mama Neddy,  Nageya, Kinoti Mlachake and the other two people who I can’t remember their names, and I were relegated to the peripheries of the Ruaraka constituency decision making table.

To appease us, each one of us was given a bursary form. My friends and other people who knew that I sat with TJ on the same table thought that I had denied them bursaries. At some point my mom personally went to Abiola to ask for a bursary, an effort that hit the wall. But I’m happy we had played our part – we gave the constituency a work plan it much needed.

I would have voted TJ in for the second term had he implemented the report we gave him. I believe you don’t necessary need to be the one to actualize your dream; you can always forward it to someone else. Unfortunately, our successors were concerned with stealing millions from the public coffers.

One of the sites we identified in the report for the construction of a community hall now hosts a house of one of TJ’s CDFC members. Both the chairman and secretary have had their lives change; at least they both own decent houses, whether it is back in the village or locally. The other guys were awarded the tender to build a dining hall at drive in.

But at whose expense are they achieving this? Bursaries are cashed in to fund their construction projects, when children are sent away from school for school fees. In Utalii they turn to our able MCA Hon. Ocholla, for help, I can’t ell what happens in other wards. And the only genuine groups that received Uwezo Fund money was those owned by their girlfriends and wives, when the actual people who should benefit struggle to finance their projects.

Asking me to give TJ another term would be an insult to the United Youth Organization, a group that begun in 2009, which was denied Uwezo Fund simply because of its association with me. But a briefcase group (Utalii Youth Organization) started by a disgruntled member of the former was awarded Kshs. 100,000.

As they say, when one door closes, another opens. Indeed another door opened for me and I was received with open arms. I joined Ayungo and vowed to campaign for him with all the means necessary. But one thing I must thank TJ for is making me matter in Ruaraka politics. People know me because he discusses me! He thinks I’m too little to bother him, yet he has my profile on his desk.

Let me assure you my readers, I’m not confused and my position has never been clearer than it is now. The two Raila pests have nothing to offer the electorate; they only want to a sip from the cup of power one more time. They are Mitumba and only people with the poverty of the mind would blindly support them. For that reason, I sustain my fight against these demagogues.

The journey to make Ayngo the MP of Ruaraka may have hit a snag, but it has not stopped. Yes, may have not been in the favor of the owners of the party and so he shelved his ambition, but it won’t be always like that. Our victory has only been postponed. All we know is regardless of who becomes the MP on August 2017, Ayungo will be back and when that time comes, nobody will be able to stop him. As for now, the people of Ruaraka you have no choice but to go against the long tradition of voting the party if you’ve to make your voice heard!

Leave a Reply

